You are here

DiversityEd Social Justice Awards

Nominations Due March 15, 2019

Diversity and Social Justice Education is now accepting nominations for their annual Social Justice Awards, which will be held on Tuesday, April 16th from 6-8pm in the Murphy Lounge of the University YMCA. These awards are for an unsung undergraduate student, graduate student, staff or faculty, alumnus, and registered student organization that has sought to address marginalization, oppression, and/or privilege. Individuals and organizations who receive University compensation (e.g., course credit or pay) to engage in social justice work are not eligible. Nominations are due by March 15, 2019.

Successful candidates will have sought to address marginalization, oppression, and/or privilege through their academic, co-curricular, and/or social engagement. Through their efforts, successful nominees will help promote critical awareness, perspective taking, understanding, critical thinking, and/or action for fairness and the common good.

Nominees may be submitted by a faculty or staff member, or another Illinois student. Self-nominations (including via current members of a student organization) are not accepted; however, we encourage students to discuss their interest in an award or scholarship with a potential nominator who they believe can speak to their strengths and qualifications. Nominators are urged to let their nominees know a nomination is being submitted for them. To nominate an individual or organization, click here to access to online nomination form.

  • Undergraduate Student Award - Must be a currently enrolled undergraduate student.
  • Graduate Student Award - Must be a currently enrolled graduate student.
  • Student Organization Award - Must be a registered student organization in good standing.
  • Staff/Faculty Award - Must have been employed by the University of Illinois during the 2018-2019 academic year.
  • Alumni Award - Must be a graduate of the University of Illinois